Smart Transport for New Zealand Conference


Coming up this week the at Parliament is the Smart Transport for New Zealand Conference, co-hosted by Gareth Hughes, Green Party Transport Spokesperson, and Shane Jones, Labour Party Transport Spokesperson.

On their website, they say “The aim of the conference is to promote smart transport choices for New Zealand and ensure that all New Zealanders have access to good public transport, walking and cycling options. It will bring together transport experts, advocates and others working in the field to discuss how we can best promote smart transport choices.”

Gareth Hughes MP

They have an interested looking agenda. The Saturday session should be interesting with short presentations from:

Cycle Action Auckland- Barbara Cuthbert

Campaign for Better Transport - Rob George

Save the Basin Reserve - Mt Vic Residents Assoc + Architectural Centre

Kapiti Expressway – Alliance for a Sustainable Kapiti & Save Kapiti

Save Northland Rail - Viviene Shepherd

Save Gisborne Rail - Manu Caddie

The Cycling Advocates’ Network - Jane Dawson

Hutt Cycle -Cr Paul Bruce

Rail and Maritime Transport Union - Wayne Butson

Get Across - Bevan Woodward

Living Streets - Mike Mellor

Transport & Health - Marie O’Sullivan

Brake Charity - Mary Williams

Susweltrans - Tim Jones

5×5 - Tim Gummer

Road Safety - Fred Macdonald.

Dr. Paul Mees speech in particular will be well worth a listen. He’s possibly Australiasia most well-known sustainable transport advocate ane he’s author of Transport for Suburbia: Beyond the Automobile Age .  He’ll also be speaking in Auckland, Friday evening at Auckland University.






  1. KarlHansen says:

    Good to see Labour on board. They need to get behind better transport funding and policies, or by the time the government finally changes, we could be left with Labour still thinking that a pre-Joyce kind of transport budget is “moderation”.


Leave a Comment


XHTML: You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>